Warning: invalid memory pointer passed to a callee: geo->GetMasterVolume()->Draw();

Hello everyone,

I’m new to REST.
I’m trying to use one of the GDML file template presented at the REST-for-physics school of 01/2023.
Here is the template: https://github.com/rest-for-physics/rest-school/blob/master/day2/session2/box.gdml

In a restRoot -m 1 session, I run REST_Geant4_ViewGeometry("box.gdml") to visualise the geometry.
Everything works fine, I get the output output1.txt (1.3 KB)

But, in the same restRoot session, if I want to run this REST_Geant4_ViewGeometry command again, I get an error: output2.txt (2.7 KB)

I would say it is something that I don’t get concerning the way to use restRoot or even Root.

But the problem is more annoying than that: now, I’m trying to create my own geometry file, based on the box.gdml template, let’s say Mybox.gdml. And when I try to visualise the geometry in a new restRoot session, sometimes I get the error in output2.txt, even at first launch of the REST_Geant4_ViewGeometry command.
I don’t understand this error. I tried to look at the file

MyRESTPath/rest-framework/install/master/macros/geant4/REST_Geant4_ViewGeometry.C

it didn’t help.

Thank you if you have an idea of what is happening.
If necessary, I could post Mybox.gdml.

I’m using
Root 6.24/06 (and Geant4 11.0.3) in a Conda environment.
REST v2.3.15
Linux Debian
The last output of git log in $REST_PATH: GitLog.txt (352 Bytes)

Thank you,
Cloe

Ok, I can reproduce the problem with the box.rml example.

The problem is that the second time when the macro tries to create an instance using geo->GetMasterVolume(), the returned value is a null pointer (a non-valid memory address), and thus the line geo->GetMasterVolume()->Draw(); crashes.

I added a PR just to avoid reaching the seg.fault and output a more human error message.

If you got an account on GitHub you might approve yourself.

====